Accelerometer calibration testing

Just fixed some bugs in the sensor simulation and first thing I did was to test the accelerometer calibration code.

I configured some noise in the sensor – 0.1g, a big bias (2.5, 1, -0.3) and some scale (0.9, 1.1, 1.04) and ran the 6 step Gauss-Newton calibration.

sim_sensors

 

To my surprise the algorithm converged to almost the exact sim input I configured:

gs_calibration

The scale found is actually 1/sim scale which is ok.

The error is ~0.01 for the bias and ~0.005 for the scale.

 

I must say I’m impressed. One less thing to worry about.

Next on the list is calibrating at 2 temperatures to be able to compensate temp drift.

 

 

Leave a Reply

