Remote debugging on the Raspberry PI from QtCreator

For a few weeks now I got an error in QtCreator every time I started the debugger: “The selected build of GDB does not support Python scripting.It cannot be used in Qt Creator.

I imagined it’s due to my recent raspbian cleanup as I deleted everything I could (don’t remember why..). So yesterday I reinstalled raspbian from scratch due to a kernel panic and I reinstalled ubuntu due to a new laptop and the error was still there.

Long story short – it seems that the latest versions of QtCreator require python support in the _host_ gdb  to be able to format the debug data. The crosscompile toolchain for the raspi (https://github.com/raspberrypi/tools) lacks python support and I’m too green in the linux ways to compile my own toolchain so I got used to the idea of working without a debugger…

Today, desperate after 2 days of trying to nail down a crash I found out that you can use gdb-mutiarch and voila – debugging is back.

So:

sudo apt-get install gdb-multiarch

Point QtCreator to it:

Screenshot from 2014-09-28 22:54:44

and profit!

6 thoughts on “Remote debugging on the Raspberry PI from QtCreator

  1. Not many time a suggestion works out of the box. I did and it is now possible for me to debug on the Raspberry! Thanks man.

    1. I’m glad it worked. I struggled for a long time without a debugger because of this issue. I hope I will be able to cross compile clang at some point or even gcc 4.8.

  2. Wow, you’re awesome. I struggled for awhile trying to config GDB on my armv7 target. This worked immediately so easily, I wish I found it sooner. Thanks a lot.

Leave a Reply

