Robust sensors

Thanks to HobbyKings horrible shipping times, I’m forced to use my broken Crius UBLOX GPS to test the GPS code. I’m not sure what is broken but the symptoms vary from garbage data, wrong crc, loosing the fix every 2 minutes and random periods of complete silence.

To be able to continue working I had to add a watchdog that reinitializes the GPS if it’s silent for more than 5 seconds. However – my GPS::init function is blocking and takes a few seconds to do it’s work as it has to wait for the ACK messages and retry a few times if needed. So I moved it on the secondary thread using silk::async.

void GPS_UBLOX::process()
{
    QLOG_TOPIC("gps_ublox::process");
    if (!m_is_setup)
    {
        if (!m_setup_future.valid() || //first time we're starting this
             m_setup_future.get_state() == boost::future_state::ready) //the previous async setup failed
        {
            //start the async setup
            m_setup_future = silk::async([this]() { setup(); });
        }
        return;
    }

And the watchdog:

//check if we need to reset
if (q::Clock::now() - m_sample.last_complete_time_point >= REINIT_WATCHGOD_TIMEOUT)
{
    m_is_setup = false;
}

So if at any moment the GPS stops responding I’m firing the setup on the second thread – to avoid blocking the main control thread and keep doing it until the GPS responds again.

I’m thinking to add this king of hot restart to all sensors and in case something happens to trigger it from the GS.

2 thoughts on “Robust sensors

  1. What’s in your main control thread? Do you have a RT thread dealing with sensors values and what’s need to be sent to motors?
    I bet you now think of getting one of these new RPI 2 with quad cores 😉 or maybe wait for a stripped down version as you have…

    1. The main thread is RT and it reads the sensors, computes the AHRS, the PIDS and sends the outputs to the motors.
      Yes, I keep thinking about the new quadcore raspi but as you say I’m waiting for the A2+ board :).
      In the mean time I will get the Navio+ and play with it. I’ll write a post about the problems I’m facing now and how will Navio hopefully fix them..

Leave a Reply

